Election results: new magistrates for 2771 AUC (2018)

by | Jul 11, 2018 | Res Publica Romana | 0 comments

The annual elections are now over and we have elected new magistrates for AUC 2771 (2018)! In this post we take a look into our new magistrates and explain a little about how our Roman community works.

The new magistrates

l-licinius-lucullusConsul L. Licinius Lucullus

L. Licinius Lucullus was among the establishing citizens of Res Publica Romana, heralded as Pater Patriae, and held his first consulship at AUC 2764. Lucullus is widely known in Roman circles for the Official Res Publica Romana Calendar, a modern Roman calendar, and for his blog Nobilitas. In his daily work Lucullus is owner of a PR and advertising agency. Lucullus is known for his enthusiasm for the late republican Roman history and culture, which he specialised in Cultural History department of University of Turku, Finland.

julia-caesaris-cytheris-aegeConsul Julia Caesaris Cytheris Aege

Julia Caesaris Cytheris Aege was among the first citizens who joined Res Publica Romana. AUC 2771 will be her second consulship. Aege is known in the Roman circles as practioner or Religio Romana, Roman Religion.


Praetor K. Fabius Buteo Modianus

K. Fabius Buteo Modianus a is known for his work for research and practising Religio Romana. He is a hard working long standing citizen of Res Publica Romana.


sep-fabia-veraCenstrix Sep. Fabia Vera

Sep. Fabia Vera was one of the first citizens to join Res Publica Romana and senatrix. She was consul at 2769 and was elected as censor for 2770-2771 two-year term. She is known for her efforts in historical correctness and for her publishing house Vox Romana and book on spoken Latin Vox Populi.


Censor M. Julius Perusianus

M. Julius Perusianus is one of the founding members of Res Publica Romana. He has served as praetor and censor. He is known for his Signa Romanorum cataloguing project, which currently covers over 1200 Roman era sites all over Europe, for example a listing of 183 Roman bridges still existing.

How Res Publica Romana administration works?

Res Publica Romana is both a Roman community, with annually elected magistrates, as well as modern non-profit organisation registered in Sweden. This duality means that while we follow the Roman cursus honorum and elect our magistrates in comitia centuriata, those same magistrates also function as administrators of non-profit association. Consules are the chairmen and praetores and censores are the members of the board of directors (i.e. consilium curulis). We also have the senate of ex-magistrates as advisory body, as in the ancient republican Rome.

Consuls are the two leading (curule) magistrates of RPR. They are elected annually in the Comitia Centuriata elections. The duty of the consuls is twofold: they are both the leaders of Roman community with imperium as well as chairmen of the not-for-profit association. The consuls are responsible for running the day-to-day administration of the RPR, e.g. by issuing edicts as well as acting as chairmen of the Senate.

Praetor is an annually elected curule magistrate in RPR. Duties of praetor include upkeeping of the Tabularium (archive of laws and edicts of RPR) as well as the upkeep of the RPR Contio and some other email-lists.

Censores are responsible for new citizens applications and upkeeping of order at the Forum of RPR. They are elected every second year in turns in the Comitia Centuriata elections. Censores office Villa Publica contains all information for new citizens.

Other adminstrative positions

While the above mentioned magistrates form the board of directors (consilium curulis), the non-profit association also has annually elected auditors and substitute directors. For 2018 (AUC 2771) these are following:

Auditors: L. Rutilius Minervalis, Cn. Aelius Merula.
Substitute director: K. Fabius Buteo Quintilianus.

We welcom the new magistrates and wish them success in their activities in AUC 2771 (2018)!

L. Licinius Lucullus
Consul Res Publica Romana

Julia Caesaris Cytheris Aege
Consul Res Publica Romana