Election results: new magistrates for 2770 AUC (2017)

by | Dec 17, 2016 | Res Publica Romana | 0 comments

The annual elections are now over and we have elected new magistrates for AUC 2770 (2017)! In this post we take a look into our new magistrates and explain a little about how our Roman community works.

The new magistrates

l-licinius-lucullusConsul L. Licinius Lucullus

L. Licinius Lucullus was among the establishing citizens of Res Publica Romana, heralded as Pater Patriae, and held his first consulship at AUC 2764. Lucullus is widely known in Roman circles for the Official Res Publica Romana Calendar, a modern Roman calendar, and for his blog Nobilitas. In his daily work Lucullus is owner of advertising agency and senior marketing communications consultant. Lucullus is known for his enthusiasm for the late republican Roman history and culture, which he specialised in Cultural History department of University of Turku, Finland.

julia-caesaris-cytheris-aegeConsul Julia Caesaris Cytheris Aege

Julia Caesaris Cytheris Aege was among the first citizens who joined Res Publica Romana. AUC 2770 will be her first consulship. Aege is known in the Roman circles as practioner or Religio Romana, Roman Religion.


c-julia-agrippa2Praetrix C. Julia Agrippa

C. Julia Agrippa is known for her work for research and practising Religio Romana. She is a hard working long standing citizen of Res Publica Romana.


k-fabius-buteo-quintilianusCensor K. Fabius Buteo Quintilianus

K. Fabius Buteo Quintilianus was amongst the establishing citizens of Res Publica Romana and heralded as Pater Patriae. Quintilianus was consul at AUC 2764 and 2765, princeps senatus 2765-2770, censor 2766, interrex 2767 and 2768 and censor 2769-2770. He is known for his deep knowledge of Roman history, his enthusiasm for military history and for his organisational skills. Now retired teacher and breeder of saluki Quintilianus has been censor at 2769 and will complete his two-year term at 2770.

sep-fabia-veraCenstrix Sep. Fabia Vera

Sep. Fabia Vera was one of the first citizens to join Res Publica Romana and senatrix. She was consul at 2769 and was elected as censor for 2770-2771 two-year term. She is known for her efforts in historical correctness and for her publishing house Vox Romana and book on spoken Latin Vox Populi.

How Res Publica Romana administration works?

Res Publica Romana is both a Roman community, with annually elected magistrates, as well as modern non-profit organisation registered in Sweden. This duality means that while we follow the Roman cursus honorum and elect our magistrates in comitia centuriata, those same magistrates also function as administrators of non-profit association. Consules are the chairmen and praetores and censores are the members of the board of directors (i.e. consilium curulis). We also have the senate of ex-magistrates as advisory body, as in the ancient republican Rome.

Consuls are the two leading (curule) magistrates of RPR. They are elected annually in the Comitia Centuriata elections. The duty of the consuls is twofold: they are both the leaders of Roman community with imperium as well as chairmen of the not-for-profit association. The consuls are responsible for running the day-to-day administration of the RPR, e.g. by issuing edicts as well as acting as chairmen of the Senate.

Praetor is an annually elected curule magistrate in RPR. Duties of praetor include upkeeping of the Tabularium (archive of laws and edicts of RPR) as well as the upkeep of the RPR Contio and some other email-lists.

Censores are responsible for new citizens applications and upkeeping of order at the Forum of RPR. They are elected every second year in turns in the Comitia Centuriata elections. Censores office Villa Publica contains all information for new citizens.

Other adminstrative positions

While the above mentioned magistrates form the board of directors (consilium curulis), the non-profit association also has annually elected auditors and substitute directors. For 2017 (AUC 2770) these are following:

Auditors: L. Rutilius Minervalis, K. Fabius Buteo Modianus.
Substitute director: M. Julius Perusianus, T. Flavius Aquila.

We welcom the new magistrates and wish them success in their activities in AUC 2770 (2017)!

L. Licinius Lucullus
Consul Res Publica Romana

Sep. Fabia Vera
Consul Res Publica Romana